Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Tortured Souls by Kimber Leigh Wheaton -- Free Book


I am thrilled to announce that Tortured Souls will be FREE on Amazon from
December 15, 2014 through December 19, 2014.
Be sure to grab your copy before it's too late!

Tortured Souls
The Orion Circle #1

Kimber Leigh Wheaton

YA Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy
June 30, 2014
Sea Dragon Press

FREE on Amazon 12/15 - 12/19/14


Sometimes Rest in Peace isn't an option

Kacie Ramsey sees ghosts—and it's ruining her life. Her mother left, her father blames her, and no matter how hard she tries, she can't keep the ghosts away. Now a new power has emerged. Nightly visions of grisly murders and a relentless predator draw her to the brink of insanity.

When the phantom appears at a party, Kacie's longtime crush, Logan, saves her. He invites her to join the Orion Circle, a group of supernatural hunters with chapters in schools all over the country. Through the Circle, Kacie learns to embrace her spiritual powers, and for the first time in her life she feels in control rather than a victim.

But the Foxblood Demon will not give up so easily. A demented serial killer in life who trapped the souls of the thirteen children he murdered, imprisoning them within the walls of his mansion. Now in death, he plots his return while drawing power from the pure souls of the children. He recognizes something in Kacie he's never seen before—a medium powerful enough to provide a vessel for his tainted soul.

Kacie can't ignore the tortured souls of the children crying out to her every night. With Logan at her side, she will fight the Foxblood Demon. But can they banish this powerful phantom, or will Kacie lose not only her body, but her eternal soul to the monster.




About the Author

Kimber Leigh Wheaton is a bestselling YA/NA author with a soft spot for sweet romance. She is married to her soul mate, has a teenage son, and shares her home with three dogs, four cats, and lots of dragons. No, she doesn’t live on a farm, she just loves animals. Kimber Leigh is addicted to romance, videogames, superheroes, villains, and chocolate—not necessarily in that order. (If she has to choose, she’ll take a chocolate covered superhero!) She currently lives in San Antonio, TX but has been somewhat a rolling stone in life, having resided in several different cities and states.


Author Links:


Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, December 10, 2014

Hotwire by Cindy M. Hogan -- Blog Tour/Giveaway


HotwireHotwire by Cindy M. Hogan
Division spy Christy Hadden can’t wait for her latest assignment posing as a student at a prestigious New York City academy and car thief extraordinaire.
The best part of the mission is her attractive handler, Jeremy, and her new team. The worst part? The sociopath masquerading as the academy’s most popular guy.
But soon she realizes the car thieves are much more than they seem. Her simple spying mission becomes more dangerous than anyone imagined. If the organization discovers her true identity, they won’t hesitate to kill her, and if she fails, others will suffer the same fate.
Young Adults, teens and adults will love this exciting suspenseful adventure with a dash of romance. You won’t want to put it down.
My Review

This book had me on the edge of my seat for every page.  I loved it!  Every turn there was something happening and it had such shady characters, I didn't know who to trust, or what could possibly happen next.  Cindy took Christy to another level of awesomeness with Hotwire.  I have to admit, the last half of the book kept me up late to see how it would all pull together.  As much as I have enjoyed the other Christy books, this one was my favorite.  Mostly because of one person, Jeremy.  I was thrilled that he was in it so much and that we were able to see some sparks fly between him and Christy.  Christy's character continues to amaze me.  I love how smart and resourceful she is.  I also love how her brain works.  Christy is constantly thinking and I love that she can handle herself.  There were some parts in the end where I had a stomach ache, worried with so much anxiety as to how they were going to get out of the situation they were in.  Hotwire is an amazing book and so much fun!  It will be a long wait for Fatal Exchange.

4 out of 5 stars!  Non-stop action and solid writing.  
Praise for Hotwire
This book will take you on a crazy ride that you won’t want to get off of to eat, sleep or anything else! ~Cathy Jeppson
Hogan cleverly created characters with detail, who are both relatable and grounded. ~ the bookstalker
It’s a thriller that reminded me of a mix between Gone in 60 Seconds and the Gallagher Girls books ~Canda Mortensen

Cindy HoganAuthor Cindy M. Hogan
Cindy M. Hogan graduated with a BA in education and is inspired by the unpredictable teenagers she teaches. More than anything she loves the time she has with her own teenage daughters and wishes she could freeze them at this fun age. If she’s not reading or writing, you’ll find her snuggled up with the love of her life watching a great movie or planning their next party. Most of all, she loves to laugh.
She is the bestselling and award winning author of the Watched trilogy, a YA suspense series with a dash of romance. She has since branched off to write a mystery, Gravediggers, that won Best YA novel of 2013, a contemporary romance, Confessions of a 16-Year-Old Virgin Lips,  and two in a spy series, Adrenaline Rush and  Hotwire.
Hotwire
25_Amazon_Paypal
Blog Tour Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/26/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Indie and Proud by Christine Fonseca -- Spotlight


About INDIE AND PROUD: You did it! You achieved your dream of writing and publishing your book. You should be happy. Instead you feel trapped in an ever-changing publishing race, stressed over the never-ending to-do list, and frustrated with yourself for continuing to doubt your talents, despite achieving your goals. 
Face it, being a creative is difficult, and achieving some measure of success in the business doesn’t make you immune to your own fears and doubts. If anything, your achievements have added even more pressures. Indie and Proud shines a light on those fears and pressures, providing tools to deal with your frustrations and embrace your passions again. 
Presented in an easy-to-read, conversational style, the book uses everyday examples and stories from writers and other artists to help artists find and maintain their balance in the exciting world of independent publishing. With specific strategies to address self-doubt, underlying fears, and the truly intense nature of being creative, Indie and Proud is a must read for anyone ready to embrace everything it means to be Indie.

Available: Preorders available 12/10; Book releases 2/2/2015

About Christine Fonseca: Critically acclaimed and award-winning nonfiction and fiction author Christine Fonseca is dedicated to helping children and adults find their unique voice in the world. In nonfiction, she delves into the world of giftedness, resiliency, and temperament, offering children and adults a no-nonsense, how-to approach to facing the world without fear. She has taught parenting classes for more than a decade, works with educators to understand the social and emotional needs of the gifted, and is a frequent presenter statewide conferences on topics related to children and education. Christine works as a school psychologist in the elementary, middle and high school levels. She also coaches children and parents to work through their anxieties and discover their talents. 
Christine has written self-help articles for  Parents.com, Johnson & Johnson, Bop/Tiger Beat, and Justine Magazine. She was awarded 2013 Special Achievement Award from the Surrey International Writer’s Conference for her body of work and efforts to give back to the community and was a semifinalist in the Kindle Book Review’s Best Indie Book (YA) for her thriller, Transcend. Recent  titles include The Girl Guide, Quiet Kids, and YA suspense novel, Collide.
Christine lives in the San Diego area with her husband and children. When she isn’t crafting new books, she can be found sipping too many skinny vanilla lattes at the local coffee house, or exploring the world with her family. For more information about Christine Fonseca or her books, visit her website http://christinefonseca.com.


Tuesday, December 9, 2014

My Life as a 6th Grade Super Zero by Peggy Martinez -- Book Blast


life as a sixth grade super zeroMy Life as a 6th Grade Super Zero by Peggy Martinez
You’d think being a superhero would be cool. And you’re right. It would be cool, especially since the entire world is filled with plain old regular people. Superheroes and supervillains are kind of hard to find, but not as hard as some people like to think. So, anything would be better than being just a normal, everyday 6th grader, right? Wrong. The only thing worse than being an average kid would be being what I am, and that is a hero with a totally useless, mega wonky, super power. I’m a dud—a zero. That’s me, Theo Perkins, a 6th grade super-freaking-zero.

Praise for the Book
“This is definitely a book that I would have no problem sharing with my kids. Your superheroes have the most creative powers!” -Lindsay Galloway, Contagious Reads.
 AMAZON 
add to goodreads
Excerpt
My mom and dad are superheroes. Even my sister, who is in high school and has no time for her kid brother, is a superhero. Talk about a lot of pressure, right? Mom has super strength and dad has super speed. My sister, Marcy, has super hearing, which makes it really awkward if you have to go to the bathroom, if you know what I mean. And that’s where I come in. My name is Theo Perkins and I’ll be starting Juniper Springs Middle School in a few days. The trouble is, I just got my own super powers and they aren’t exactly what I had in mind. I figured, you know, with all the awesomeness floating around in my family, I was bound to get some super cool powers when the time came. Man, was I ever wrong.
I’ve heard stories about some kids getting weird, useless powers and even some kids getting powers that glitch more than they work. But I thought those were just made up to scare super kids into being good. It turns out that not only are they true, but I am one of the lucky (not!) super kids who got a mega dud for a super power. Instead of beginning my first day of middle school as a superhero, I’m beginning it as a super ZERO.

Author Peggy MartinezAuthor Peggy Martinez
When not writing, Peggy Martinez can be found spending time at home with her husband, her teen son, and four little girls. She loves reading, writing, soap making, aromatherapy, gangster movies, prepping for the zombie apocalypse, and downing insane amounts of Twizzlers and Kazoozles.
As if being a wife and homeschooling mom of five doesn’t keep her busy enough, Peggy is a full time Author who has six published books, including The Time Warper Series, State of Decay, Sweet Contradiction, and Unnatural Occurrence. The 6th Grade Super Zero series is Peggy’s first Middle Grade book series, but she’s pretty sure it won’t be her last!
100_Amazon_Paypal

Book Blast Giveaway
$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/29/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, December 8, 2014

Epic: Fourteen Books of Fantasy -- Book Blast


EPIC CoverEpic: Fourteen Books Of Fantasy
For a limited time only!
The freshest voices in fantasy bring you fifteen New York Times, USA Today, and Amazon bestselling authors. With fourteen stories and over one million words of captivating fiction, this epic fantasy set will keep you entranced.
Delve into worlds where adventurers discover forgotten lands of wonder and fight ancient evil. Worlds where dragons soar, where heroes and heroines wield sword and magic to answer adventure’s call.
Get one of the largest bundles of page-turning epic fantasy today…before it’s gone!


Pre-order your copy NOW!
EPIC

Terah Edun – Blades Of Magic 
As an unstoppable war breaks out, a young girl enlists to find out the secrets that everyone is trying to hide. 

Daniel Arenson – A Legacy of Light 
War rages in Requiem, an ancient kingdom whose people can grow wings, breathe fire, and rise as dragons. 

Megg Jensen – Anathema 
A young slave girl discovers a world of magic she never knew existed and must face her enemies as prophecy unravels. 

Jeff Gunzel – Land Of Shadows 
A young blacksmith, born into a simple life, watches helplessly as the world he knew crumbles before his eyes. 

C. Greenwood – Mistress of Masks 
When an ancient evil stirs in Earth Realm, a group of unlikely heroes must find a way to stop the wave of darkness that is devouring their land. 

Dima Zales & Anna Zaires – The Sorcery Code 
Blaise’s magical creation is not an object of sorcery, but rather a beautiful woman who’s unlike anything their world has ever seen. 

Annie Bellet – Witch Hunt 
A cursed elven archer and her ragtag group of adventuring friends battle witches to stop a deadly plague and save a small village. 

David Adams – Ren Of Atikala 
Humanity is found in the inhuman when a “monster” is forced out of her home and into the world of elves, humans, and dragons. 

Joseph Lallo – Jade 
A little girl, selected as a sacrifice to end a mighty dragon’s reign of terror, instead finds both the protection and the family she so badly needs. 

K.J. Colt – Concealed Power 
Adenine has been quarantined for being the last carrier of a plague that killed thousands, but when trouble strikes, she is forced to leave her sanctuary and enter a world full of secrets, enemies, and plots. 

Lindsay Buroker – Encrypted 
After being kidnapped, linguist and code-cracker Tikaya Komitopis must work with her people’s greatest enemy to stop an ancient evil that threatens the entire world. 

Mande Matthews – Bonded 
Two children–one a born leader and the other a born servant–are bonded across worlds as Soul Warriors, but they must discover the secrets of their past if they hope to overcome the darkness that threatens their future. 

Brian Anderson – Starfinder 
Lee Starfinder embarks on his first adventure with a sword at his side and confidence in his heart, but he will soon discover that the perils of the world are far stranger than he had ever imagined. 

Ed Robertson – White Tree 
A young man is obsessed with mastering death magic, but his studies make him the key to resisting a powerful god–as well as the intended prey of the god’s dark acolytes. 

50_Amazon_Paypal

Book Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/22/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, December 5, 2014

The Awakening by Dorine White -- Book Blast


The Awakening by Dorine White
The Awakening by Dorine White
Nightmares really do come true, and for fifteen-year-old Kyler Birkwood, they are just beginning. Raised on a farm by his Aunt Martha, Kyler has no clue about the magical heritage swimming through his blood. When he discovers evidence of a mythical creature, a terrifying beast thought only to exist in fairy tales, his safe world shatters.
Left at a school of magic to hunt for clues, he is overwhelmed and disbelieved. As loved ones begin disappearing and Orcs roam the land, Kyler must undergo a journey that takes him from the High Courts of the King to the unknown forests of the East. His magic just awakening, Kyler is the lone hope for a world that will not listen.
Purchase Your Copy
Praise for The Awakening
“Dorine White delivers twists and turns to the plot that will keep you turning the pages.” ~ Melanie Mason, author of the YA historical, The Line That Divides
“The Awakening is a clever blend of folklore and fantasy, perfect for fans of Harry Potter and Percy Jackson. A furiously fun read!” ~ Laurisa Reyes, author of the YA thriller, Contact

DorineAuthor Dorine White
My name is Dorine White. I am a children’s fantasy author and a book reviewer. I grew up back East in Maryland and attended BYU in Utah. I have a BA in Humanities with an interest in Art History and French. Currently I live in the beautiful, yet rainy Northwest with my husband and 6 children. My first novel was published in 2012 and is the beginning of the Cleopatra’s Legacy series. The first two books are out, The Emerald Ring and The Ruby Pendant. Look for the third book, The Diamond Looking Glass in the summer of 2015.


50_Amazon_Paypal$50 Blast Giveaway
Enter to win an Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/29/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by readinglight.com. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, December 4, 2014

Summer Queen by Amber Argyle -- Spotlight


Summer Queen

By Amber Argyle

Nelay never wanted to be queen.

Poised to become the most powerful priestess in Idara, Nelay doesn’t have time to become a pretty bauble for the king. She’s too busy saving her people from the invading army sweeping across her kingdom.

But in defeat after defeat, Nelay begins to realize a bigger power is at play than that wielded by mere mortals. Only she can stand between the cinders of her once-great nation and the vengeance of a goddess.

I wrote this book during perhaps one of the hardest times of my life. My son was in and out of hospitals with a noncancerous bone tumor. He had two surgeries and was in a wheelchair and not allowed any type of physical activity for months.

We also moved to another state, I broke my leg, had surgery, and played single mom while my husband was away. Insurance was, and still is, a nightmare (I'm looking at you, Humana).

This book is perhaps the strongest straight-up fantasy novel I've written. One of the themes I explore is leadership. To quote from the book: “To be a true leader, one must not simply be strong. One must also be selfless.”

And I can't mention one of my books without talking about the main characters. Nelay doesn't start off as this weak, timid little thing being oppressed. She's poised to become the most powerful woman in her kingdom. But as with most of those in power, she lacks empathy.

Rycus knows who he is and what he wants, but unlike Nelay, he is also willing to sacrifice for those he loves. And Rycus loves Nelay "as the sun loves the sky." 

Tweet: Check out @amberargyle's #CoverReveal of Summer Queen. Gorgeous! http://ctt.ec/4_elI+ #mustread #books #bookworm #picofthedayI also want to announce that I've written a prequel for Summer Queen, entitled, Of Fire and Ash. It's with my editors now and will be published as soon as it's finished. You can find both on Goodreads here and here.  I hope you're as excited for the next installment in the Fairy Queen Series as I am.