Friday, May 22, 2015

Moon Mail & Star Kisses by Amanda Salisbury -- Blog Tour

Moon Mall

Moon Mail and Star Kisses
Moon Mail and Star Kisses by Amanda Salisbury
In Moon Mail and Star Kisses, a loving adult and child must be separated for a little while. The adult promises the child to send greetings and kisses through the night sky, shared no matter the distance of place or time apart. The moon, the stars, and a person’s love are bright and constant even when they cannot be seen.

My Review

This book is so sweet!  I don't have little ones at home anymore, and my girls are getting older, but I still love a good picture book.  This one in particular had me thinking of my daughters when they were young, and how fast they are growing up.  The message of the book is we will always be looking at the same moon where ever we are in the world.  Oh, it melts my heart.  Enjoy reading this book to your little ones, or if you're like me, you can think of fond memories of them as babies and look forward to new adventures.   
add to goodreads

Copy of IMG_0500Author Amanda Salisbury
Amanda Salisbury lives on the red planet of Oklahoma. All her best stories are sifted through the screens of her education and experience in history, law, finance, and mothering. She lives with her husband and boys in a lair, a classroom, or a castle, depending on the moment.
25_Amazon_Paypal
Blog Tour Giveaway

$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 6/2/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Death is Always a Resident by Lorraine Jeffery -- Spotlight

Death is Always a Resident

Author: Lorraine Jeffery

Publisher: Sweetwater Books

Published: May 12th, 2015

ISBN13: 9781462124763

ebook: 282 pages

Goodreads Summary

Jan Myers has dedicated her career to helping the elderly. But after one of the elderly residents under her care mysteriously dies, Jan’s career, her daughter, and everything she loves is suddenly in jeopardy.

It’s up to Jan to piece together the clues and find out what happened before it’s too late!

This cozy mystery is a perfectly thrilling read. With shocking twists and romantic hints, it’s sure to keep you guessing till the very end.

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble 

Author Links

Website / Facebook

I wasn't able to review this title during the tour, but hope to read it soon!

Thursday, May 21, 2015

Veils and Vengeance by Rachelle J. Christensen -- Cover Reveal/Giveaway

Veils and Vengeance
Veils and Vengeance by Rachelle Christensen
When wedding planner, Adrielle Pyper, goes to Hawaii to orchestrate a destination wedding, she isn’t prepared for what she finds.
After the trauma of her previous event, the beautiful isle of Kauai is the perfect place for Adri to unwind and do what she does best – plan. She even lets herself indulge in the attention of the groom’s handsome brother. But just when everything seems to be perfect, an afternoon snorkeling trip turns to murder when Adri discovers the body of a young woman.
Shaken, but unable to let it go, Adri’s sleuthing leads her into more danger than she could imagine. When a number of “accidents” threaten her own life, it soon becomes apparent that someone will do anything to keep Adri from interfering with their vengeance.

add to goodreads


rachelleAuthor Rachelle J. Christensen
Rachelle J. Christensen is a mother of five who writes mystery/suspense and solves the case of the missing shoe on a daily basis. She graduated cum laude from Utah State University with a degree in psychology and a minor in music. She enjoys singing and songwriting, playing the piano, running, motivational speaking, and, of course, reading.
Rachelle is the award-winning author of six books, including Wrong Number, Diamond Rings Are Deadly Things, and What Every 6th Grader Needs to Know. Her novella, Silver Cascade Secrets, was included in the Rone Award-winning Timeless Romance Anthology, Fall Collection.
$25 Cover Reveal Giveaway
$25 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 6/15/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, May 20, 2015

The Moses Chronicles: Bondage by H. B. Moore -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

The Moses Chronicles: Bondage (Volume 1)

Author: H. B. Moore

Publisher: Covenant Communications

Published: May 2015

ISBN13: 978-1-68047-166-3

Paperback: 236 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary
Moses has always felt like an outsider in his powerful Egyptian family, even though his close relationship with Ramses, the prince of Egypt, and their cousin Pentu keeps him entwined in the dealings of royalty. But when their youthful antics get them in trouble, the Pharaoh decides it’s time for all three of them to grow up and own their respective responsibilities. Now betrothed to a woman he cares nothing for, Moses wonders where his life is headed.

Miriam, a Hebrew slave, lives with a secret she cannot share with anyone. And though it has been eighteen years since she saved her baby brother, she is constantly getting in trouble for spying on him. In a desperate attempt to control Miriam, her older brother, Aaron, and her father look to find her a husband, something Miriam has never been interested in—until Caleb, a young, handsome man, confesses his feelings for her and asks her father for her hand in marriage.

When Libya advances on Egypt, Moses and Miriam are suddenly thrown together as the Egyptian royals and soldiers flee. Hebrew slaves are forced to defend the kingdom, and Miriam and Caleb are enlisted under Moses’s direction. Moses quickly sees there is more to this downtrodden people than what he’s been taught. When he witnesses the atrocities enacted against the slaves, he realizes he must leave—he must find out who he really is.

A gripping account of the events that lead to Moses’s flight into the wilderness, The Moses Chronicles: Bondage will take you back to a rich period of history replete with scandal, strife, love, and hope as God prepares a prophet to lead His chosen people.

My Review

As with any of Heather's books, the characters in The Moses Chronicles: Bondage are brought to live with her amazing storytelling and writing.  I loved this fictional account of Moses and Miriam.  I appreciated the point of view changes between Moses, Miriam, and Bithiah.  Miriam was an especially enjoyable character.  She was a very strong, and courageous woman in hard times.  My heart broke for her with all she endured.  Another aspect I enjoyed was Miriam's love for the brother she didn't know.  Heather's Moses was also a strong character that was honorable and wise.  This book is very hard to put down and reads quickly.  There is so much to this book that will keep you turning pages.  For me, it was the characters and the beautiful, gripping story.  I also enjoyed the other characters, Caleb and Bithiah especially.

5 out of 5 stars.  I can't wait for Deliverance, the next volume in the series.

Author Links


Purchase Links


Tour Schedule

*May22nd: http://literarytimeout.blogspot.com/ , http://whynotbecauseisaidso.blogspot.com/http://www.rockinbookreviews.com/


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, May 19, 2015

Best Friends... Forever? by Krysten Lindsay Hager -- Book Blast

Best Friends Forever
Best Friends… Forever? by Krysten Lindsay Hager
Landry Albright hopes the new year will start off in an amazing way—instead she has to deal with more frenemy issues, boy drama, and having most of her best friends make the cheerleading squad without her. Suddenly, it seems like all anyone can talk about is starting high school next year—something she finds terrifying.
Landry gets her first boyfriend (her crush, Vladi), but then gets dumped just as things come to a head with her friends. She feels lost and left out, but finds good advice about dealing with frenemies from what she considers an unlikely source. Landry faces having to speak up for what’s right, tell the truth (even when it hurts), and how to get past the fear of failure as she gets another shot at competing in the American Ingénue TV show modeling competition. Will she get a second chance with her friends, fame, and Vladi?
Praise for the Book:
“For girls Landry’s age it’s wonderful to see that they aren’t alone and this book is giving them some very useful advice. It’s a fun story to read as well. I like that it’s so realistic.”
“I wish I could give this more stars. This book brought back so many incredible memories, things that I haven’t thought of in a long, long time. It was a well told story of a young woman who is discovering who she is without being cheesy or preachy.”
“…I LAUGHED SO HARD it was ridiculous! LOVED THIS BOOK.”

Excerpt:
“Landry, it’s gotta be so awkward for you to be going to Vladi’s school next year,” Tori said. “I mean, what if you run into him during the tour?”

“It’s a huge place,” Ashanti said. “People break up all the time. It’s not a big deal.ʺ

Tori raised her eyebrows as if to say, “Yeah, right,” and went back to her sandwich.

Meanwhile my delicious homemade soup was no longer sitting well. It never occurred to me Vladi might be around during the first pre‑freshman tour. I would be mortified if I ran into him and he was with a girl. Or worse yet, running into him, and he was with Yasmin. Plus, I hadn’t told my mom about the breakup, so if she saw him, she’d probably go over to talk to him. I could already imagine it: “Landry, Vladi’s here! Hon? Why are you hiding behind the garbage can? Your boyfriend, Vladi, is here. Come say, ‘hello.’ Stop trying to run away. Why is everyone laughing and pointing at you and calling you a ‘loser dumpee?’ What does that mean?”

Well, maybe the world would end and I wouldn’t have to deal with high school or Vladi and my mother running into each other.
****
Sadly, the world did not end, and on Thursday, we all had to go to the high school for a freshman information night from 6 to 9 p.m.


Krysten LAuthor Biography
Krysten Lindsay Hager is the author of the Landry’s True Colors Series, a clean reads young adult series about  friendship, self-esteem, fitting in, middle school and high school, frenemies, modeling, crushes, values, and self-image. Best Friends…Forever? was ranked at #1 on Amazon’s Hot New Releases in Teen & Young Adult Values & Virtues Fiction and #1 on Amazon’s Hot New Releases in Children’s Books on Values. True Colors is an international bestselling book. Krysten is book addict who has never met a bookstore she didn’t like. She’s worked as a journalist and writes middle grade, YA, humor essays, and adult fiction. She is originally from Michigan and has lived in Portugal, South Dakota, and currently resides in Southern Ohio where you can find her reading and writing when she’s not catching up on her favorite shows. She received her master’s degree from the University of Michigan-Flint. 
book blast button




Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 6/14/15
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the publisher. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, May 15, 2015

Mysteries of Cove: Fires of Invention by J. Scott Savage -- Spotlight/Release Info

About the Book

Expected publication: September 29, 2015
(I can not wait for this release!)

STEAMPUNK! Plus Dragons!

Trenton Colman is a creative thirteen-year-old boy with a knack for all things mechanical. But his talents are viewed with suspicion in Cove, a steam-powered city built inside a mountain. In Cove, creativity is a crime and "invention" is a curse word. Kallista Babbage is a repair technician and daughter of the notorious Leo Babbage, whose father died in an explosion-an event the leaders of Cove point to as an example of the danger of creativity.

Working together, Trenton and Kallista learn that Leo Babbage was developing a secret project before he perished. Following clues he left behind, they begin to assemble a strange machine that is unlikely anything they've ever seen before. They soon discover that what they are building may threaten every truth their city is founded on-and quite possibly their very lives.

Author Note:

Like many of my books, the inspiration for my new series Fires of Invention came from the collision of two ideas. The first time the story occurred to me was while I was watching the musical Wicked with my wife. The moment I walked into the theater and saw the huge mechanical dragon above the stage, I thought, Wow! I have to write a story about that! A few weeks later, I was talking with my nephew, who is probably the most creative kid I know, but whose inventiveness often gets him into trouble, and I thought, What if a kid who had the talents of my nephew lived in a world where creativity was against the law? What if the kids were building . . . a steam-powered dragon? Bam! I had my story.

Powered by great feedback from my agent, Michael Bourret, my good friend and author James Dashner, my publisher, Chris Schoebinger, and the song “Warriors” by Imagine Dragons, I wrote the entire first draft of the first volume in the series, Mysteries of Cove in four weeks. This book is unlike anything I have ever written. There are elements of City of Ember, Dragon Riders, and Hugo in it all mashed up together in a world I fell in love with from the moment I started writing.

I think what’s most exciting to me about this book is that it’s about giving yourself the freedom to imagine. To take chances. Too often we limit ourselves by only trying things we’re confident we can succeed at when what we need to do  is give ourselves permission to fail. Often it is when we attempt things with no idea of how we can possibly pull them off that we achieve our greatest successes.

Author Bio:

J. Scott Savage is the author of the Farworld middle grade fantasy series and the Case File 13 middle grade monster series. He has been writing and publishing books for over ten years. He has visited over 400 elementary schools, dozens  of writers conferences, and taught many writing classes. He has four children and lives with his wife Jennifer and their Border Collie, Pepper, in a windy valley of the Rocky Mountains.

INSTAGRAM: jscottsavage

Wednesday, May 13, 2015

Keep it Real and Grab a Plunger by Julie K. Nelson

Keep it Real and Grab a Plunger: 25 Tips for Surviving Parenthood

Author: Julie K. Nelson

Publisher: Cedar Fort

Published: March 10th, 2015

ISBN13: 9781462116324

Paperback: 176 pages

Received a PDF copy in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

As a popular blogger, a college professor, and a frequent parenting guest expert on TV, you might suspect Julie K. Nelson is immune to the realities of actual parenting. But in fact, she’s been there—through all the late nights, huge messes, and tough moments.

Now she combines her expertise with her experience as a mom of five in this entertaining and pragmatic book. Learn how to overcome your natural manipulative, authoritarian tendencies and foster your child’s self-discipline, respect, and emotional maturity.

Humorous, insightful, and authentic, this book will get you through the sticky stuff with grace so you can enjoy those parenting moments that make it all worth it.
 

My Review

There was so many things I liked about this book, it's hard to know where to start.  There were so many thoughtful messages and advice.  I appreciated them all.  Sometimes with parenting books, I feel lectured, or that everything I do is wrong when it comes to my kids, and I didn't feel that way reading this book.  I think there are many topics in this book that any parent in any stage could relate to.  For example: Lifting Children Who Make Mistakes, How to Stop Yelling at Your Kids, Bedtime Routines (that was and is still a needed necessity in our home), I could go on and on.  I recommend this book to parents who are first starting their journey, or like me, have older kids.  We could all use a refresher.  

5 out of 5 stars.  Enjoy the book trailer below!

About the Author

Julie K. Nelson is the author of "Parenting With Spiritual Power." She is a wife and mother of five children, raising them in Illinois and now Utah. She received a bachelor’s degree in education from Brigham Young University and a master’s degree from Utah State University in marriage, family and human development. Her scholarly research and creative writing have been published in journals and anthologies, and she has won numerous state and national awards for her writing. Julie has enjoyed teaching children in public and private schools and currently teaches at Utah Valley University.

Purchase Links

Amazon / Barnes and Noble