Wednesday, November 26, 2014

The Unhappening of Genesis Lee by Shallee McArthur


The Unhappening of Genesis Lee


Publisher: Sky Pony Press

Published: November 18th, 2014

ISBN13: 9781629146478

Hardcover: 352 pages

FTC FYI: Received an ARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Seventeen-year-old Genesis Lee has never forgotten anything. As one of the Mementi—a small group of genetically-enhanced humans—Gena remembers everything with the help of her Link bracelets, which preserve memories perfectly. But Links can be stolen, and six people have already lost their lives to a memory thief, including Gena’s best friend.

Anyone could be next. Which is why Gena is less than pleased to meet a strange but charming boy named Kalan who claims that they’ve not only met, but that Gena knows who the thief is.

The problem is, Gena doesn’t remember Kalan, she doesn’t remember seeing the thief, and she doesn’t know why she’s forgetting things— or how much else she might forget. As growing tensions between Mementi and ordinary humans drive the city of Havendale into chaos, Gena and Kalan team up to search for the thief. And as Gena loses more memories, they realize they have to solve the mystery fast.

Because Gena’s life is unhappening around her.

My Review

This book is one wild ride.  Just when I thought I had it all figured out, I was WAY off!  Wow, I enjoyed being wrong.  To my credit, I was right about one thing, but there were reasons for everything and where it went was awesome.  I loved the idea of this book.  Our memories are precious.  What would it be like to have them stolen.  There is a BIG twist in this book that was very cool, but sad.  Shallee wrote some amazing characters.  As much as I liked Gena, I really liked Kalan.  He was a breath of fresh air for this fantastic book.  I won't be giving anything away by saying this, but when Genesis keeps forgetting Kalan, it is heart breaking.  But, Kalan doesn't give up.  I won't say why or how she keeps doing so (that was one of the twists), but I thought it added quite an excitement to this page-turning book.

4 out of 5 stars.  This is Shallee's first book and I look forward to what is next for her!

Author Links


Purchase Links

Monday, November 24, 2014

Eve: In the Beginning by H. B. Moore


Eve: In the Beginning

Author: H. B. Moore

Publisher: Mirror Press

Published: November 22nd, 2014

ISBN13: 978194149395

ebook: 285 pages

FTC FYI: Received an ebook copy from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

The first love story on earth... Haunting... Lyrical... Unforgettable...
In a world where everything is perfect, yet the same day after day, Eve must decide if she wants to live forever in the garden with Adam and never know what lies beyond the walls. When she makes a choice with terrible consequences, the pain of mortality is swift. As she and Adam explore their new world, and her body changes, Eve discovers the sweetness of first love with the man who has always been at her side.

My Review

I absolutely loved this book.  Heather does an incredible job of telling this beautiful story of our first parents.  I appreciated Heather's notes in the beginning of the book, that she believes one day our questions will be answered about the Garden of Eden, and that this book is not to answer those questions, but to simply "bring to life an incredible man and woman who sacrificed immortality to start the human race".

Heather's Eve is a sweet, curious woman who is loved protectively by Adam in the garden.  They work together to tend to the garden and the animals.  Eve is fascinated by the tree of knowledge of good and evil, while Adam fears it.  Lucifer is there and his presence causes changes and death in the Garden.  Of course, we all know what happens after that.  Eve partakes of the fruit, as does Adam, and they are cast out.  But that is where their journey begins.  Their struggles in the wilderness and how they learned to adapt were heart-felt and challenging.  Lucifer comes to confuse and manipulate them.  What I loved most was Adam and Eve's strong love for each other.  They knew they needed to multiply and replenish the earth, but knew it would bring Eve "great sorrow".  I enjoyed their individual journeys of self discovery and finding their new love outside the garden.  Heather wrote these characters so well.  I enjoyed how the story was told from both character's point of view.  I loved Eve, her sweet nature and innocence were enduring, but what I loved most about her was how she was strong too and came to Adam's rescue at times.  Adam is strong and shielding and the perfect protector, and Satan is just, well Satan.

5 out of 5 stars.

Author Links


Purchase Links

Friday, November 21, 2014

Beam n Read Hands Personal Reading Light -- Blog Tour


Beam n Read

 My Review
I was hesitant when I pulled this light out of the box, only because it goes around your neck.  But once I tried it, I loved it!  I loved that my hands were free to hold the book and that there was no clip that I had to keep removing.  The light itself is very pleasing and I LOVED the easy glow of the orange light.  One thing I noticed was it got a little heavy around my neck (I read for an hour or two at a time), so I took out the batteries and used the handy USB and it was light as a feather!  I would recommend this light to any reader.   
Beam N Read Hands Free Travel and Reading Light 
New edition Beam n Read Hands-Free Light delivers a wide & bright light that lights up 2 book pages and doesn’t disturb others. It’s a true reading light that works with all printed books, Kindles and other eReaders (whether naked, skinned, or covered), PLUS newspapers, magazines, newsletters, loose documents, and other items that can’t support a clip-on light. Worn around the neck, there’s no need to shift it when reading paperbacks.
Included are two 2 special Relaxation Filters: BNR Orange for a softer, warmer light that blocks energizing blue light (especially useful when reading to relax in bed); BNR Red to block blue light and reduce ambient light for sensitive bed partners.
Standard alkaline AA batteries (not included) last an extra long 100 hours, far longer than flashlights and clip-on lights resulting in a lower cost to use (and fewer batteries in the trash). This light is still bright when others have gone dim. Save batteries for when you’re on the go with the optional USB/AC Power Kit with 12 ft of cable that lets you plug into the included USB/AC adapter. Or plug into a USB car adapter/charger, or a computer USB port, or a USB adapter/charger for cell phones, etc.
In addition to reading, this 3 LED hands-free light is great for crafts, travel, and walking in dim or dark places such as an attic, basement, or around the house during a power outage. Use it for writing journals, working, camping, changing diapers at night, and a lot more.

 Makes a Great Gift!
AMAZON

 Testimonials
“I’ve never liked clip-on book lights because they add weight to the book, sometimes fall off, make it awkward to hold the book, and interfere with page turning. The Beam N Read has none of these problems, making them a pleasure to use” – BethFishReads.com
“The red filter is my favorite. My hubby doesn’t like when I turn on a bright reading light in the dark…It cuts down ambient light, making everyone happy.” – Momwitha.com
“The Beam N Read is by far the best personal reading light we have ever come across,” – Scott Carmichael, Executive Editor, Gadling.com

Features
  • For hands free personal light anywhere; extra bright light is easy on the eyes; doesn’t disturb others
  • Wide light from 3 LEDs in a row lights up 2 book pages; works with ALL Kindles, eReaders
  • BNR Orange Relaxation Filter softens and warms the cool LED light and blocks energizing blue light
  • BNR Red Relaxation Filter blocks blue light, reduces ambient light, & helps maintains night vision
  • Alkaline AA batteries (not incl) last Extra Long 100 hours, 3-10x longer than most clip-on lights



Also Available
Beam N Read USB/AC Power Kit
Beam n Read USB Adapter

Save batteries for when you’re on the go or the next power outage with the Beam n Read Accessory USB Power Kit.
It works with all Beam n Read LED Hands-Free lights (3 and 6 LED lights).
In addition to the adapter’s 6 foot BnR to USB cable, this kit includes an additional 6 foot USB extension cord letting you work up to 12 feet from a USB-A socket. Need a longer cable? – just add a standard USB extension cable. Use the included USB/AC adapter or a USB DC car adapter/charger, or a computer’s USB port, or the USB adapter/charger for your cell phone, e-reader, etc. You may leave batteries in the Beam n Read or take them out to make a super lightweight light.
Please note this kit is for external power adapter and will not recharge batteries.
Purchase your Adapter from Amazon
Beam n Read (1)
November 10th to December 10th
$25 Tour Giveaway
Enter to win an Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 12/15/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by readinglight.com. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, November 19, 2014

Fairy Tale Christmas by Michael McLean and Scott McLean


Fairy Tale Christmas

Author: Michael McLean and Scott McLean

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Published: September 30, 2014

ISBN13: 9781609079307

Hardcover: 151 pages

FTC FYI: Received a hardcover copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Santa Claus has been kidnapped! Behind the plot are the mischievous and evil characters of fairy tale stories--an evil queen, a wicked stepmother, a sorceress, the beanstalk giant, and Rumpelstiltskin. They have a plan that will erase the term "Happily Ever After" from storybooks forever. It's nearly Christmas Eve and time is running out. Can Santa and the fairy-tale heroes save the day and bring Christmas to all the children of the world? Will anyone have a "Happily Ever After" again?

Fairy Tale Christmas reminds us all that there is good in everyone and that the magic of Christmas can soften any heart.

My Review

This cover is so much fun!  Isn't it awesome, I love it.  This book is tons of fun.  It combines some favorite fairy tale villains and Christmas.  What a clever idea and great combination.  The story is sweet, entertaining and reads fast.  The scheme that the "Clandestines" come up with to stop Christmas and redeem their stories is creative and down right evil (in a cute way).  I loved the ending and the message of even the nastiest characters can change given the chance and Christmas magic.  I think the epilogue is my favorite, it adds just the perfect final touch to this great story.  This is a great book that you and your kids can read every year to start a new Christmas tradition.  There is also music with this book too, of course, it's Michael McLean!  Find out more at Fairy Tale Christmas Musical.

Purchase Links

Tuesday, November 18, 2014

Celebrating a Christ-Centered Christmas by Emily Freeman


Celebrating a Christ-Centered Christmas: Seven Traditions to Lead Us Closer to the Savior

Author: Emily Belle Freeman

Publisher: Ensign Peak (Shadow Mountain/Deseret Book)

Published: September 30, 2014

ISBN13: 9781609078997

Paperback: 94 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange of an honest review.

Summary

Discover how each figure of the nativity can lead your family closer to Christ this Christmas season.  Learn the tradition of the tinkling bell, whip up a batch of French cocoa, create a tender mercy tree, and find ways to make your gift-giving more meaningful as Celebrating a Christ-Centered Christmas guides you through seven meaningful traditions inspired by the nativity setting.  These simple experiences will give you an opportunity to escape from the frantic busyness of the Christmas season to spend time reflecting on the Savior and the miracle of His birth.

My Review

I was excited to review this book with the holiday season upon us.  Even more so, to take the time to reflect on and read a lovely book centered on Christ and Christmas.  I really appreciated the author's introduction and what inspired her to write this book.  I loved how each chapter started with a verse of scripture, and ended with a summary of each tradition with suggestions how to incorporate it in your life.  As well as a sweet paragraph describing the tradition.  The author's heart-felt stories and ideas make this book all the more enjoyable.  I can't wait to start some of these and add to our own family Christmas traditions.

Author Info

Emily Freeman and Simon Dewey collaborated on the bestselling book The Ten Virgins. For nearly 20 years, Emily has addressed groups of women as a writer, songwrite, and motivational speaker. Her deep love of the scriptures comes from a strong desire to find their application in modern-day life. Emily and her husband, Greg, are the parents of four children and live in Lehi, Utah. Simon Dewey studied at a London art college before launching his career. In 1999 he entered the world of published fine art and soon became on of the bestselling artists of LDS religious works. He is the artist of Beloved Savior; This Is the Season, Beloved of the Year; and He Lives.

Links



Monday, November 17, 2014

Resisting Ruby Rose by Jessie Humphries -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Resisting Ruby Rose

Author: Jessie Humphries

Publisher: Skyscape

Published: October 28th, 2014

ISBN13: 9781477825082

Paperback: 284 pages

FYC FYI: Received a PDF copy in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

Still reeling from the heartbreaking events that unfolded on Grissom Island, Ruby Rose is trying to come to terms with the fact that she’s gone from a vigilante in killer shoes to a stone-cold killer. Everyone from her therapist to her smoking-hot boyfriend keeps trying to convince her that she hasn’t crossed over to the dark side, but Ruby isn’t so sure. It doesn’t help that her nemesis, Detective “Mastermind” Martinez, is still out there, waiting for another chance to take her down.

When an alleged CIA agent named Skryker shows up and asks for a meeting, Ruby figures it just means more questions about her case. But he has information of an entirely different nature and a job offer: join an elite force of young assassins, including Skryker’s right-hand guy, Quinn Donovan. Quinn is distractingly charming, handsome—and deadly. Ruby resists becoming a killer again, but as she becomes more ensnared in a web of deceit, no one around her is safe.


My Review

Another wild ride for Ruby Rose.  I read this book in 24 hour period, I couldn't put it down.  It was fast-moving, intense, full of action, and wild twists and turns.  This book starts fast, lets you catch your breath sometimes, but then picks right back up and does not stop until the end.  Ruby has some tough choices to make, as everyone around her is effected by her choices, good or bad.  Her relationship with Liam is on the rocks, thanks to the mysterious Quinn, and other reasons. :)  Martinez is still on the loose and when Ruby's mom is hurt, Ruby knows he will stop at nothing until he gets what he wants.

I love how Jessie write Ruby.  She is a great character with a love of danger,shoes, and nicely dressed boys.  I liked how Ruby's relationship with Silver is handled.  I can't wait for the next book to see what happens to these characters, especially Liam, I worry about him.  Great job, Jessie!

4 out of 5 stars.  This is book 2 of the Ruby Rose series, the first book Killing Ruby Rose was released in May, you will need to have read the first one to appreciate (and understand) what is happening in this book.   


About Jessie Humphries: Jessie Humphries was born and raised in Las Vegas, NV. She received a BA from San Diego State University, where she cultivated her love of the beach, then lived in France, where she cultivated her weakness for shoes, and finally earned a law degree from UNLV, where she cultivated her interest in justice. After practicing law for several years she began writing, and, appropriately, her debut novel Killing Ruby Rose is a thriller about vigilante justice set in sunny southern California with a shoe-obsessed protagonist. Jessie currently writes and practices law in Las Vegas, where she lives with her husband and children.

Social media links:

Twitter: @JessieHwrites


Purchase Links


Content: lots of steamy kissing (clothes on), some language


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Deceived by Kathi Oram Peterson -- Blog Tour/Giveaway


Deceived



Published: November 2014

ISBN13: 9781621088530

Paperback: 245 pages

FTC FYI: Received a paperback copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

A storm rages outside the unassuming Los Angeles house, while within, something sinister lurks. A murderer stalks his victim, unaware of a witness to the horrific crime: awakened from a deep, drug-induced slumber, Tara Kelly hears voices in the next room. Struggling to focus through her sleep medication, the young woman helplessly observes her aunt's murder. Now she's a loose end the killer cannot ignore . . .

A family friend helps Tara as she does the only thing she can: disappear. Fleeing to the security of a remote Idaho ranch, Tara finds herself under the guard of handsome rancher Joseph White Eagle. Her unwitting protector takes his role seriously, going as far as claiming that Tara is his fiancée. But even as their relationship deepens, Joseph struggles to see past Tara's similarities to his late wife. When a series of accidents threatens Tara's life, it becomes clear that her attempt to out run danger has been in vain. The killer will stop at nothing to find her, and Joseph will do anything to protect her even if it means unraveling secrets that will have devastating consequences for them both.

My Review

Once I was able to really sit down and take the time to delve into this book, I really enjoyed it.  I did think the romance between Tara and Joseph was a bit rushed, they did have to play the part of an engaged couple, and I only worried about that since Tara was in such a fragile state.  That being said, the characters were made for each other, and perfect for each other in many ways.  Tara and Joseph both had tragic events happen in their lives, until they find themselves together to protect Tara.  Joseph makes up an engagement to get those on the ranch to not ask too many questions about Tara.  Some do not take this engagement well, including Joseph's daughter.  Besides the struggles that Tara is having trying to remember what happened on the night of her aunt's murder, someone is making Joseph's life on the ranch difficult.  Between shot animals, getting shot at themselves, and putting the lives of everyone at the ranch in danger, are the two situations connected?  The author does a great job of building the suspense and planting seeds throughout the book.  The other characters in this book are written well and through all the suspense, there is a heart-felt love and the feeling of family, and a great example of love and guidance from Heavenly Father through prayer.  I also want to add, the ending was shocking and so page-turning, it was well past my bed time when I finished reading.

4 out of 5 stars.  Kathi is the author of many great books.  Check out the links below to find out more about her.

Author Links


Purchase Links



a Rafflecopter giveaway