Saturday, October 18, 2014

Jack Templar and the Lord of the Werewolves by Jeff Gunhus


Jack Templar 4Jack Templar and the Lord of the Werewolves
Fresh from confronting the Lord of the Vampires in the limestone catacombs beneath Paris, Jack Templar faces his toughest challenge yet as he searches for the next Jerusalem Stone, this one being held by the Lord of the Werewolves.
But the narrow escape from the vampire lair came at a great cost and Eva battles to survive the new vampire blood in her veins. The only chance to help Eva is to continue their quest and find the Jerusalem Stones. Reuniting the Stones will not only stop Ren Lucre’s coming war against mankind, but also transform Eva back into her human self.
From the ruins of ancient Delhi to the depths of the Black Forest in Germany, Jack and his friends face monsters, bewildering riddles and treachery from the most unlikely of places. Through it all, they are plagued by the Oracle’s prediction that at least one of their group with not make it through the adventure alive. Worse yet, they know that Kaeden, the Lord of the Werewolves, will do his best to make sure none of them do.
But they are monster hunters of the Black Guard… and they will do their duty, come what may.

Excerpt
The stench hung heavy in the air. There was no other smell in the world quite like it. First came the stink of grease fires from the wall torches, the heavy black smoke that roiled through the air like a foul fog. Then a moldering, musty base layer came to the senses. It reeked of decay and seeping moisture that grew black mold on every surface. The mold clung on the rough-cut rocks lining the dungeon tunnels. It covered the thick iron bars holding the prisoners in place. It even grew on the tattered rags covering the miserable creatures in the cells and likely on their skin as well. That final smell overlay the symphony of stink.
The Creach prisoners.
Werewolves, harpies, blind mad-worms, blinderwursts, fangpiercers, even some demons held with the special pure iron chains required to keep them in place. Many of these creatures were pungent under the best circumstances, but locked in the deepest dungeon underground, sometimes for decades, they took on an odor so ripe, so awful, that visitors to the dungeon often had to hold their breath to enter. Even then, the smell would make their eyes sting and well with tears.
Immediately after leaving the dungeon, visitors were allowed a bath or a shower in the castle. As they washed the stench from their bodies, they would feel an overwhelming sense of thanks that they were not a prisoner wallowing in the horrifying conditions they’d just witnessed.
No one, human or Creach, wanted to be a prisoner in the dungeons of Ren Lucre.
Far away, at the end of one of the long, twisting corridors, came the creak of a massive door opening. The prisoners stirred at the sound. Their reactions mirrored how long they had been in their cells.
The newer arrivals looked up with expectation, still hopeful their punishment was going to be short and that someone was coming to tell them their nightmare was over.
Those who had been there longer knew that hope was useless in this dark place. They simply cowered farther into whatever dark corner they could find in their cell, desperate not to be noticed by the Master.
Then there were those who had been there the longest. They simply looked up with mild interest, knowing that nothing they did made any difference. Their spirits were broken. Worse, they knew this to be the dark truth, and they simply didn’t care.
One single prisoner reacted in none of these ways. He simply stood, and the rags that had once been his clothes hung on his bony frame. Unbroken by years of starvation and torture, he still squared his shoulders in the direction of the sound and raised his chin, his eyes glistening in the torchlight with defiance. What he saw would have brought a normal man to his knees, but this man was no more normal than the monster approaching.
Ren Lucre, the five hundred year old vampire, filled the hallway as he strode through it, his cloak billowing behind him as he rushed past the stinking cells. His pale, narrow face looked pinched and concerned. His blood-red lip pursed in a straight line, and his eyes glowered like embers in a fire that might at any time combust into new flame.
He came to the thick set of bars that held the proud man, stopped, and stared him down.
“Well, if it isn’t the Lord of the Creach,” the man said. Even though his voice was course and weak, he still managed an edge of bitter sarcasm. “You look like you’re having a bad day.” The man spat on the floor. “Good.”
Jack Templar 4 Tour

jeffAuthor Jeff Gunhus
Jeff Gunhus is the author of the Amazon bestselling supernatural thriller, Night Chill, and the Middle Grade/YA series, The Templar Chronicles. The first book of the series, Jack Templar Monster Hunter, was written in an effort to get his reluctant reader eleven-year old son excited about reading. It worked and a new series was born. His book Reaching Your Reluctant Reader has helped hundreds of parents create avid readers. Killer Within is his second novel for adults. As a father of five, he and his wife Nicole spend most of their time chasing kids and taking advantage of living in the great state of Maryland. In rare moments of quiet, he can be found in the back of the City Dock Cafe in Annapolis working on his next novel. If you see him there, sit down and have a cup of coffee with him. You just might end up in his next novel.
Jack Templar awards
book blast button




Book Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 11/4/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Friday, October 17, 2014

Yoder Family Amish Restaurant by Becca Fisher -- Book Blast


Yoder Family Restaurant
Yoder Family Amish Restaurant
Sadie Zook is in an impossible situation. After a long search, she’s finally found love. But the man she’s fallen for also happens to work at the same Amish restaurant–a restaurant that has banned co-workers from dating. So Sadie and her boyfriend are forced to keep their love a secret. Can they keep from being found out, or will everything Sadie has worked so hard for be jeopardized?
Praise
“What a great story. Great story line. I couldn’t put it down.” – marshalljs
“I recommend this out-standing Amish Christian romance book to any reader young or old. Ms. Fisher has written an delightful book exhibiting excellent taste.” – Dr. Wanda Piercey

About the Author
I’m Becca Fisher and I write sweet Amish romances featuring simple people with complex love lives. I’m devout in my faith, relish time with my family, and seek to bring joy to as many lives as possible. I would love to have you as a reader. God bless.

book blast button



Book Blast Giveaway
$100 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 11/4/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, October 16, 2014

Author Stacey O'Neale Giveaway

INDIeReConLive! BannerI'm so excited to announce that I won THREE HOWEY AWARDS at IndieReCon Live!

I won BEST BOOK for MORTAL ENCHANTMENT

Rowan won BEST BOOK BOYFRIEND

Rowan and Kalin won for BEST KISS in MORTAL ENCHANTMENT

These awards mean a lot to me because they were voted on by readers. They said they got over 28,000 votes and over 300 novels were nominated. Thank you so much to anyone who voted for my books or characters. It really touches my heart to know that people out there enjoy what I do.

You can see the full list on winners HERE.

If you haven't read my series, THE SHADOW PRINCE is available for FREE on Amazon and Barnes & Noble

The Shadow PrinceSixteen-year-old Rowan has spent most of his life living among the mortals—learning to control the element of fire, impatiently awaiting the day his vengeful mother, Queen Prisma, will abdicate her throne. When he finally returns to Avalon for his coronation, his mother insists he must first prove his loyalty to the court by completing a secret mission:

Kill Kalin, the half-human, half-elemental daughter of the air court king. Willing to do anything to remove his mother from power, he agrees to sacrifice the halfling. He returns to the mortal world with his best friend, Marcus, determined to kill the princess. But as he devises a plan, he starts to question whether or not he's capable of completing such a heinous task. And what price he will pay if he refuses?

To celebrate my WINS, I'm giving away 
1 $25 Amazon or Barnes & Noble Gift Card 
PLUS Five additional Winners will get 
SIGNED COPIES of my entire MORTAL ENCHANTMENT series (which includes FRAGILE REIGN)!!!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram -- Blog Tour/Giveaway

Cinder & Ella

Author: Kelly Oram

Publisher: Bluefields

Published: October 1st, 2014

ISBN13: 9780991457953

Paperback: 332 pages

Summary


It’s been almost a year since eighteen-year-old Ella Rodriguez was in a car accident that left her crippled, scarred, and without a mother. After a very difficult recovery, she’s been uprooted across the country and forced into the custody of a father that abandoned her when she was a young child. If Ella wants to escape her father’s home and her awful new stepfamily, she must convince her doctors that she’s capable, both physically and emotionally, of living on her own. The problem is, she’s not ready yet. The only way she can think of to start healing is by reconnecting with the one person left in the world who’s ever meant anything to her—her anonymous Internet best friend, Cinder. 
… 

Hollywood sensation Brian Oliver has a reputation for being trouble. There’s major buzz around his performance in his upcoming film The Druid Prince, but his management team says he won’t make the transition from teen heartthrob to serious A-list actor unless he can prove he’s left his wild days behind and become a mature adult. In order to douse the flames on Brian’s bad-boy reputation, his management stages a fake engagement for him to his co-star Kaylee. Brian isn’t thrilled with the arrangement—or his fake fiancĂ©e—but decides he’ll suffer through it if it means he’ll get an Oscar nomination. Then a surprise email from an old Internet friend changes everything.


My Review

I have always enjoyed the books I have read from Kelly, so I knew I would enjoy Cinder & Ella.  The difference was, I didn't instantly like Brian at first.  I honestly thought he was a jerk.  But, I loved Cinder.  I know they are the same person, but we meet Brian after Cinder, after Ella was in her accident, and because he hadn't heard from her in so long and thought something happened to her, he wasn't himself.  He didn't care about anyone, until he hears from Ella again.  Even after that though, he needed to do an about-face for me to like him.  Luckily, he did.  

Ella, on the other hand, was an angel.  All that she had gone through was gut-wrenching.  Not only was she in a terrible accident, her mom dies, and she goes to live with her dad, who abandoned her, and his wife and daughters.  Anastasia is such a brat, but I grew to like Juliette.  Ella has a lot to work out, not only with the accident and recovering, but her feelings towards her dad and what really happened between him and her mom all those years ago.

I really enjoyed how this book wasn't just about their relationship.  As with Ella, Brian needed to work his life out too before he deserved to be with Ella.  I liked how they "met" and the ending is very enjoyable and sweet.  

4 out of 5 stars.  

Content

Language, sexual innuendoes  

Author Links








a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, October 14, 2014

Wedding Cake by Josi S. Kilpack -- Spoiler Free


22343778Wedding Cake

Author: Josi S. Kilpack

Publisher: Shadow Mountain

Publish Date: December 30th, 2014

ISBN13: 9781609079321

Paperback: 368 pages

Culinary mystery

FTC FYI: Received an eARC from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Goodreads Summary

When Sadie Hoffmiller receives a threatening, anonymous text message just days before her wedding, she is determined not to let it interfere with the celebration she has carefully planned for months. But when the threat changes from a distant fear to a frightening reality, Sadie realizes just how much she is underestimated the situation. Desperate to put an end to the game she has been forced to play, Sadie, her fiancé, Pete, and her children pull out all the stops resolved to stop running and see justice done. What they do not know, however, is just how far Sadie's nemesis is willing to go and just how many people may be hurt in the process. There is no turning back for anyone in this riveting conclusion to the twelve-volume series, and the question becomes whether or not Sadie will have a future left when the game finally comes to an end.

Author and Reviewer Warning!

*Make sure you have read the first 11 books before you start Wedding Cake.  The gloves are off when it comes to holding back the details on the previous mysteries.  Some of the other book plots are revealed, especially the books that involve Jane.*

My Review

The word perfect doesn't even come close to how utterly awesome this book is.  As much as I have been looking forward to reading Wedding Cake, I was also dreading it.  Not in a way that it was something I didn't want to do, believe me, it was only because I knew Sadie's story would be ending.  That being said, that never would have stopped me from reading and loving Wedding Cake.  I know all things must come to an end, like Harry Potter :), and WOW, what an end!   My heart raced, my head pounded, and my stomach hurt all while reading in anticipation, turning the pages as fast as I could.  As I read, I thought, what next!  Poor Sadie, poor Pete, poor everyone!

When I read the teaser chapter at the end of Fortune Cookie earlier this year, I knew this book was going to be a wild ride.  Jane has been keeping herself quiet for awhile, but she has been bidding her time.  I'm sure we all have been wondering what has happened to Jane since her last words to Sadie in Pumpkin Roll.  The books since have mentioned her, but in Wedding Cake, she makes her presence known right at the start, and is not holding back.  This will be spoiler free review, with no details given, but when you do get to read this, prepare your life for not getting anything else done until you finish this book.  The epilogue is so lovely, it had me smiling through my tears.

5 out of 5 stars.  This book is everything I wanted it to be with many surprises mixed in.  Again, Jane doesn't hold anything back when it comes to Sadie and the people she loves.  It was fun to have the other book's mysteries mentioned and their characters.  Sadie will forever be one of my all-time favorite characters, and Pete is including on that list as well.  Sadie is nothing short of amazing, as is the author who created her.

Author Links 


Pre-order Links

Monday, October 13, 2014

Where There is Love by Mya O'Malley


Where there is love
Where There is Love by Mya O’Malley
Mia Dennsi is a beautiful young woman who has experienced a challenging childhood. As an out of work teacher, Mia accepts a position for home-schooling a troubled, misunderstood teenager. Mia makes it a priority to help Cassidy overcome her challenges and reach for her dreams. In the process, Mia experiences healing of her own; she is faced with issues she must now come to terms with.
Mia finds a rare friendship in Jamie, her caring and attractive neighbor. The relationship starts off as friendship, but will Mia let this healthy friendship bloom into something more or is she destined to a repeat the vicious cycle of making the same mistakes over and over again?
Through the various twists and turns of Mia’s love life, she is forced to make a decision that will affect her entire future. The reader cannot help but root for this character to succumb to true love and happiness.


Excerpt
I would have done anything for that girl. Anything. I have dreamed of Mia, I have waited for Mia. I have loved Mia.
I can’t trust Mia.
I can’t get my hopes up again, only to be crushed by her. I couldn’t stand it.
She doesn’t allow herself to be happy. What has happened in her life to cause her to reject the people who love her, who care for her?
I remember the first time I ever laid eyes one her. The way she bumped into me, how embarrassed she was. I swear to this day that she is the most beautiful creature I’ve laid eyes on. Her slim build, dark hair and striking eyes. And that smile, that smile still warms my heart.
I went to see my grandma in Maine for the weekend once I realized that I was falling in love with Mia. My grandmother and I have always been close. She has been there for me through thick and thin ever since I was a child. I grew even closer to her as I was growing up, finding my way in life. For some reason, I always found it easiest to share my feelings with Grandma, the two of us like kindred spirits.
My feelings for Mia scared the life out of me. I told my grandmother that I didn’t want to risk getting hurt again and that Mia seemed so unsure of herself. She offered me a piece of advice that I will hold true to my heart forever: She placed her hand over my heart and said, “Go where there is love, surround yourself with love.” So I did, I went to Mia and tried to tell her how I felt, only to be brushed off with news of Josh coming back into the picture.
I’m happy with Danielle, she’s smart and she’s beautiful. Yeah, I’m going to give this a chance, I would be a fool not to.
But…I think…she’s not Mia. My heart can’t take Mia.
She has the power to hurt me, and I can’t survive that again.

MyaAuthor Mya O’Malley
Mya O’Malley was born and raised in the suburbs of New York City, where she currently lives with her husband, daughter and three step-daughters. The family also consists of two boxers; Destiny and Dolce and a ragdoll cat named Colby. Mya earned an undergraduate degree in special education and a graduate degree in reading and literacy. She works as a special education teacher and enjoys making a difference in the lives of her students.
Mya’s passion is writing; she has been creating stories and poetry since she was a child. Mya spends her free time reading just about anything she can get her hands on. She is a romantic at heart and loves to create stories with unforgettable characters. Mya likes to travel; she has visited several Caribbean Islands, Mexico and Costa Rica. Mya is currently working on her fifth novel.

book blast button



Book Blast Giveaway
$50 Amazon Gift Card or Paypal Cash
Ends 11/4/14
Open only to those who can legally enter, receive and use an Amazon.com Gift Code or Paypal Cash. Winning Entry will be verified prior to prize being awarded. No purchase necessary. You must be 18 or older to enter or have your parent enter for you. The winner will be chosen by rafflecopter and announced here as well as emailed and will have 48 hours to respond or a new winner will be chosen. This giveaway is in no way associated with Facebook, Twitter, Rafflecopter or any other entity unless otherwise specified. The number of eligible entries received determines the odds of winning. Giveaway was organized by Kathy from I Am A Reader and sponsored by the author. VOID WHERE PROHIBITED BY LAW.
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Saints and Soliders: The Void DVD Release -- Giveaway


DVD Release October 14th!

Germany, May 1945, the twilight of WWII. On a final mission deep in the Harz mountains a U.S. tank crew discovers a platoon of Germans, including three infamous Panzer tanks, preparing to ambush allied supply trucks.
Before the war, Sergeant Jesse Owens, was a product of segregation and racial discrimination. Forced by law to ride in the back of the bus and disenfranchised from the political process. As the Germans bear down on the Americans, Owens fights the Axis powers for a freedom he and his fellow African American soldiers have never felt.
With a deadly game of cat and mouse quickly unfolding, Owens and his predominantly white tank crew find themselves out-gunned and out-manned by the German Panzer tanks. Several in Owens’ crew are reluctant to put their faith in a black tank driver despite their dire circumstances. With tension and fear beginning to manifest Owens knows they must put aside their differences to stop the enemy from their deadly plan. Knowing that a victory over the Nazis means a victory for racial justice, Owens and his men find a way to work together to save hundreds of lives in a desperate battle against the greatest odds they have ever faced.

Links:

Website
Instagram @saintsandsolidermovies

Deseret Book is offering a DVD for readers of this blog!  

a Rafflecopter giveaway